Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2001 Ultra 150 pump question

I have a question about my pump while riding last Sunday the ski has always had the same noise to it last week on the ride back it started making a different sound kinda like maybe my prop hitting metal sound that's the best I can describe it..I was wondering if anyone has had/has this same problem I am thinking I need to re do the pump bearings and seals or is my impeller rubbing on my wear ring? not sure any help would be great it is a 2001 ultra 150 with about 80 hrs on it.It has always been a great ski I have some knowledge of it I have had the whole pump apart before to get a rock out so I am familiar with how that all works and I work on my own cars so I have a pretty good knowledge of how stuff works...Thanks Jason

Welcome to the Green Hulk!

The Ultra 150 is famous for eating pump bearing every 60 hours or so. Sounds like you are do for a rebuild. Check out the Kawi section on this forum. There is tons of info on DYI pump rebuilding, shimming, etc. There is probably a miler per hour or two in rebuilding the pump correctly.

Good luck!

Thanks for the info ill check it out..How would I know if I have done any damage to anything else? Have you ever done it? Just wondering how involved it is sorry for all the questions kind new at pwc wrenching.lol..

I was told to take the pump cone off and if water is in there the seals are shot thus your bearings are probably toast too. For alittle over 100 bucks skiworx with press new bearings on and re-pitch and blueprint your pump. I heard you get a nice jump in performance and more reliable bearings

Forgot to add if you do it yourself look for 05 10 ultra pump bearings....they are much higher quality.

More particular you want 05 bearings and seals. I have an 04 with 180+ hours on the pump, the newer seal work. I have had 2 pumps rebuilt, skiworx did both of them.