Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    mstennes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    On the Columbia River above a Dam
    Posts
    843
    +1
    1

    LM1 A/F ratio check question????

    So this is not a Sea Doo question, but a LM1 question. I have been playing the head pipe and tail pipe swap out game on my daughters Honda 400EX, my problem is my jettting is all over the board, now since its a carb and a royal pita to change, could I put the LM1's sensor in the tail pipe and get a accurate enough reading to work on the jetting? I dont want to add a bung, and I can run it on a stand to get real close to all the throttle positions and use the rear brake for a simulated load. Whats the thought here? This would be easier than tear down after tear down, hell even getting the spark plug out is a bitch on these things, I do know I'm still lean though from plug inspections and lean pops on deceleration, but I have no idea how much, to give me a idea of how bigger I need to go.
    Thanks


  2. #2
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    I don't see why not. Innovate sells 02 sensor mounts for car tail pipes... as long as you don't have a catalytic converter you should get accurate enough readings at the tail pipe to tune the carb jets

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    406
    http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/x...cat=271&page=1

    maybe try a sniffer? just make sure it is secure. i tune a LOT of atv's, and i will only tune them under the actual load to get proper readings to adjust the fuel programmers.

  4. #4
    mstennes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    On the Columbia River above a Dam
    Posts
    843
    +1
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by got wake? View Post
    http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/x...cat=271&page=1

    maybe try a sniffer? just make sure it is secure. i tune a LOT of atv's, and i will only tune them under the actual load to get proper readings to adjust the fuel programmers.
    Its a carb, but but how do you load it?

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    406
    i ride it at the various throttle positions the fuel programmer has columns for. you don't have that option with the carb, but actually riding it will give you the A/F under load. i've seen guys tune their fuel programmers by sitting in their driveway or garage and try to simulate a load by using the brakes, but it never comes out even remotely close. i hook up the LM-2 and ride it, in high gear for most of it, since i usually work on bikes with CVT's and huge tires to load the motor as much as possible.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. double checking question 94 sl 650
    By christian.hafl in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2012, 12:42 PM
  2. pop-off pressure checking question
    By Recniz in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-22-2012, 04:38 PM
  3. Compression check question?
    By xpl2008 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-15-2009, 01:42 AM
  4. Looking at a used XP Tomorrow (Compression check question)
    By JJLee138 in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-26-2008, 05:32 PM
  5. oil check question
    By CarFanatic in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-24-2006, 03:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •