Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Prop pitching an rxp in Kansas approx 1400' above sea level. Need help.

I recently sold my RXP to a buyer in Kansas. It has a riva ecu, et140R charger, 4" intake, etc, etc, and a 15/20 solas.

I live in CT where the temp is high 70s most of the time, the humidity is low, and we are right at sea level. I had the prop pitched to a true 15/22.
    The buyer lives in Kansas where the conditions are different- particularly the fact that he has approx 1380' of altitude.

I presumed that he would be off by around 200rpm or so but he is off by about 500 rpm. He/I/we need help repitching his prop to get him in the ballpark. Can anyone offer any input/insight? I have ZERO experience tuning a ski with altitude and I hate playing the guessing game.

I put him in touch with Woody because he has experience tuning with altitude but I figured I would also put it out on GH.

LMK what you think.

+1
    Nozzle size ??? I bet 250 is from altitude and 250 is from the August heat. If he has adjustable rings then just take all out and confirm there is an RPM change.

+1
    You can repitch,but 500 rpm is to far off,you would need 5 mm that's to much to repitch.
    Repitcing works best for +- 200 rpm.
    He can take the airfilter off the kanaflex ,this will give around 100 rpm also.

+1
    He should get his A/F in line first considering that he's probably a bit rich and costing some rpm's and then he should sell the re-pitched 15/20 and buy a new 15/20 and d-pitch from there. Pitching these props back and forthe makes them weak and more likely to break. Otherwise if he wants to take the chance and use the prop he has he could send the prop to someone and have it pitched to around a 14/19 and go from there.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by richrxp View Post
    You can repitch,but 500 rpm is to far off,you would need 5 mm that's to much to repitch.
    Repitcing works best for +- 200 rpm.