Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Speedster 155 hp 2008 top speed

Hi, I'm new to jet boats,
    We recently bought a 2008 speedster 150 155hp non sc.... It's going well and having fun with it. What top speed should I be getting?
    It's currently showing max 40 on clock and reached 44 with gps, and only occasionally get to this usually showing 38on clock. We have changed the plugs but I feel it should be a bit quicker.
    This was done with one in boat and low fuel on a calm day, doesn't get near this if it's a bit choppy.
    Any ideas?
    You help will be appreciated.
    Ideas to make it go faster are welcome - but basic ones!!!!

Chester Va
    I have an 03 Sportster 4 tec and am getting about the same speeds with mine, you can try a differant impellar, with the 155hp engine not sure how much more you can get, I think these boats are a little under powered boat have no super charger issues

David N

Thanks dnebe,

It's not that much of an issue but I thought it would be a bit quicker if I'm honest.... It's still a bit of fun which is what we wanted and more than enough for waterspotrs, Ill presume there's nothing wrong with it, it seems to run fine although I am a novice to jet boats.

I just bought a 2004 4TEC 155 HP, I've read allot of reviews on them and all of them stated that they were able to get 50MPH??? 38-40MPH sounds slow to me....hope it's faster then that...??

Yep, I was hoping for 50mph but not so far.... Something not quite right I think, more help or research needed, any ideas what to check....

Yam, how many hours are on your boat?? Does it plain out fairly quickly or does it take allot of time?? I don't have any experience with the boat yet since I have'nt even picked it up yet....but as mentioned earlier, I spoke to a few owners with the same boat and engine and they all said 50MPH was not a problem.

From what reading I have done the impeller condition is critical to the performance...maybe your impeller is damaged???