Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

Ride Plate for Seadoo Pump Conversion - Need Help

I've had the JD seadoo pump conversion since the beginning of summer. I'm having a problem keeping the ski planted in any water conditions and its causing me to come unhooked and hit the limiter. Right now I'm running the Jims modded VX plate and I have tried ever different combination of shimming with no positive results. I can ride in absolute glass conditions and be bouncing around so much that I am getting absolutely frustrated. I've been told that it could be that I'm not an experienced rider. Who knows. I've been riding for 6-7 years but never at these high speeds. If anyone else has done the seadoo pump conversion, please let me know if you are experiencing the same ride as I am. If not, what plate are you running and how have you shimmed it...if at all. Speeds are fun but I need to be under control. I can't even do top speed runs at this point cause I am not hooked up long enough to get to full speed. Let me know what you guys think. Thanks!

+1
    it has nothing to do with your pump, i tried the vx plate on my fz and in any kinda chop (my pilot) gets smoked by slower ski's... and in smooth water it porposes alot..

the fz's need a stepped sponson design A.S.A.P

+1
    Do you have the seadoo pump on your ski? If so, what plate are you running now and did it fix the porpoise?

+1
    I did back to back tests with Jim's VX and the stocker. When I say back to back, I really mean it... like tests 30 minutes apart with nothing else changed.

Test 1
    Jim's VX: 85,7mph on GPS. Trim 1 up, no shim, semi-superman position, 3/4 fuel + 3 gals in the aft fuel cell. Feels good to around 82mph, steady and stable. After 84mph... starts to porpoise very badly to the point of unhooking at maximum recorded speed of 85,7mph.

Test 2