Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Starting to mod my skis... am I on the right track?

Hi everybody! This forum has been infinitely helpful to me over the past couple of years as I am new to the PWC world. I have a couple GPRs and I have ridden them for a season and a half, and I figure it's time to start tinkering with them

First ski is a 2001 GP1200R. This is the one I am willing to go crazy with as I get the fundage to do so. I'm thinking a full port job and possible even a big bore setup from WCPorting in the future, but for now, I'm just going to get some basic bolt-ons and safety/reliability mods. Here's what I'm planning on ordering:

- Pump Tunnel Reinforcement
    - Pump Seal Kit
    - R&D Ride Plate (will send to Jim's for modding in the off season)
    - R&D Intake Grate (single bar)
    - D-Plate and sensor chip
    - Riva Flame Arrestor Kit
    - Riva Boyseen Reed Stuffer Kit
    - Jetworks Kit
    - Carb Rebuild and Stock Head Milling to be done in the off-season

For the GP1300R... I want to do basic safety/reliability mods, I'm not really concerned with making it uber-fast or anything.

- Pump Tunnel Reinforcement
    - Pump Seal Kit
    - R&D Ride Plate
    - R&D Intake Grate
    - D-Plate and sensor chip
    - Jetworks Kit (maybe)

My goals are increased top speed and better holeshot performance... I ride in lakes around here that can get pretty choppy, so that is a consideration - but I also ride in pretty glassy conditions quite frequently on the same lakes (it's all about when I'm out... weekday evenings are glassy, weekends are pretty rough). I want to make sure I can keep up with all the RXPs, RXTs, 250Xs, and maybe even RXP-Xs riding around here. I'm also just interested in making my donut spinning sessions more entertaining.

Am I on the right track here? What kind of top speed will I be looking at on the 1200R with those mods?

Thanks in advance for all the help!