Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Prime New Oil lines? Is it necessary?

    SO.. I had a #3 cylinder go out. I am in the process of putting everything back together including re-doing the oil lines from the carbs back to the pump. My question is: Is it necessary to prime the new lines. My instinct tells me no for a couple reasons. One the lines are not pressurized like a brake system. Two, like a brake system if you open the bleeder valve it pushes the air out, so likewise the air in the lines should just be pushed into the carbs when i initially start it up. Three I never removed the main line or pump so there still should be oil in the pump ready to be pushed into the lines... Let me know if my assumptions are correct or if I actually am wrong and need to bleed these things. If i need to bleed them what is the proper procedure.

    Thanks


  2. #2

    HELP

    Can someone please reply and confirm or deny this so i can get my ski back up and running... PLZ

  3. #3
    60% of the time, it works every time.
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Green Cove Springs Florida
    Posts
    508
    Not done this yet myself but since nobody else is speaking up. I was told to "prime" the lines by turning the pump counterclockwise, just to get oil in the lines. If your motor is back together, you may want to pour some oil in each cylinder just to make sure theres oil in there during startup. Gl.

  4. #4
    GoFastGuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    guntersville Ala
    Posts
    336
    +1
    8
    open oil line bleed screw on top of motor next to idle screw. open till oil comes out sqeeze oil line from oil bottel to let air out needed

  5. #5
    Moderator DrewNJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Marlton, NJ
    Posts
    3,716
    +1
    1
    I've never primed oil lines....ever. Premix your first tank with oil injection and call it a day.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    lake milton
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by DrewNJ View Post
    I've never primed oil lines....ever. Premix your first tank with oil injection and call it a day.
    x2 this is what i did and not a problem 1

  7. #7
    GoFastGuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    guntersville Ala
    Posts
    336
    +1
    8
    your oil line can get air lock. bad news on next tank.a new engine needs double oil for break in .its up to you though its yours.dealers all do it .its on them .on older yamahas l like to see it running in carbs before I put on air box in my shop

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GP1200R display, is it necessary??
    By blue_h20_ in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-24-2009, 02:10 PM
  2. What is this and is it necessary?
    By ppkarnezis in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 07:44 AM
  3. drive shaft holder question, is it necessary?
    By skidoo76 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-25-2008, 03:46 PM
  4. Wanna get Pirahna Front Motor Mount is it necessary?
    By NeverEndn in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 11-08-2007, 03:18 PM
  5. Is it necessary?
    By RXTridr in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 10:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •