Intake clogged with seaweed and warning light :-(

First off I'm new to water. I just picked up my first ski (A 2010 Kawasaki Ultra LX) today and took it out on the lake. We were having fun and getting the hang of it. After a turn she started to lose thrust but RPMs were spinning. I figured the impeller wasn't spinning but the engine was... I idled towards the dock but on the way there the warning indicator light went on for heat. I shut it down immediately when the light went on and once it was off I noticed a little steam coming out of the little ports on the side that water comes out of (cooling system indicators per dealer or pisser ports as you guys call them I think). I had waved another skier and he pulled me on a rope at low speed (pretty much 3-4 mph) while I held the rope. Once I trailered it I realized all the weeds that were growing up in the lake stuck in the intake grates. If I had known I would have jumped in the water to clear it while the ski was off. I pulled them out and when I got home I flushed the motor with water and all seemed fine.

The only thing I noticed is that when I hit the throttle a little the RPMs stayed for a second before dropping down (like a sticky throttle body). I don't know if this happened before because I never had the hose on the ski before I hit the lake... I picked this ski up from the dealer today

I hope you guys take it easy on me!!!! I had my two little girls with me on the ski so I wasn't able to let it sit and wait for help without them freaking out. I had to idle it in. Just wondering if you think I did anything to permanently damage the engine if the heat indicator went on. Hope not

Quote Originally Posted by sirbreaksalot View Post
    you will be fine

the warning light/buzzers have a in built safety margin so u dont do instant damage when they come on ( otherwise wot good are they )

ensure you get all the weed out from intake & prop are and all will be good.