Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

''No Wake Zones" what does that mean?

We all know the law going very slow ...maybe 4-5 mph but every power vessel creates "SOME" small wake.Got yelled at by some irateboater as I pulled in for the day...try to explain the law to him and in these similiar terms "boats in a slow/nowake zone shall move at no wake speed and not on plane,maintaining minimun headway and producing MINIMUM wake possible....I tried to explain that 5 mph is a trolling/no wake speed...that ALL boats ALL create some sort of "wake" ...it goes against the laws of physics..the waters going to get push out of the way somewhat..He didn't want to hear about it...wanted to call state police that patrol tht N.J. waterways...Almost "bitch slapped "this guy..just another guy who hates jetskis...your thoughts

+1
    I've actually stopped and chatted with the NJ State trooper that patrols the area between the Shrewsbury and Navesink rivers. The guy was very cool. Since I am new to this, I asked him about the "no wake" and speeds. He said that he was pretty lenient with Jetskis as he knows they need propulsion to turn and go against the currents, etc. He said that anywhere between 5 and 10 mph was fine with him! So I'm sure that if that guy bitched nothing would happen to you and the trooper would probably be annoyed at the other guy after you explained to him that you were doing 5 mph. You are always going to run into a-holes and you just have to ignore them.

Quote Originally Posted by jetdave56 View Post