2009 RXT-is 255 Questions...Help?

I'm close to finalizing a deal on a new 2009 RXT-is 255. After trying to get a 2010 RXT-is 260 for a decent price and no one wanting to budge more than $1200-1500, the 2009's price is much better for me...

My questions:

-Any known issues with the suspension system?

-Anyone try to do any maintenance on theirs? If so, how difficult is it to get to needed components? Everything looks pretty well blocked...

-Performance? How is it?

-Any reason to poney up the extra dough for a 2010/2011?

-The i-Catch trailers seem really interesting. Anyone own one? Like it? Hate it?

My parents sold our '96 XP when I graduated from college in 2003 (wish I would have kept it) so I am having SERIOUS withdrawals....

Thanks for any help/advice or any other interesting tidbits you can share about the RXT-is. I appreciate your time!!!

Best,
    Matt

Full Throttle or Broke!!! UNSANE's Avatar
    +1
    I have a 2010 iS and love it. But it looks like I'm going to try to make a trade for the 2011 aS, as I do a lot of offshore riding. I beat the crap out of myself and the suspension has held up so far. I let the dealer do the 10 hr service and they do charge more because the engine is harder to get to. For such a heavy machine, it moves pretty good. It feels a little top heavy when the suspension is up, but you'll get used to it. The limiter on the ECU keeps mine at 68-69 on the GPS speedo, even with 2 people, as was the case today.

I also have an i-Catch trailer. Although I've had issues with it, I have decided to stick with it as it makes loading and unloading (especially beach launches) so much easier. Just make sure to put that safety cable through before pulling out and always tow with straps.

If you want to see it in action, check out my Youtube page for some videos and more to follow in the coming days. www.youtube.com/unsane

Good Luck!

Quote Originally Posted by UNSANE View Post