Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Guage Question

  1. #1

    Guage Question

    Alrighty, here's the scoop. I'm not a fan of the MFD at all. I'd rather have an actual guage cluster that I can see at a fast glance down. So, is it possible to remove the MFD, cut a piece of black Lexan/carbon fibre/plastic, etc out to replace where the MFD would sit and install a cluster using the existing wiring system? Or would I need to use a different wiring configuration? All I'd be after is a gas guage, voltmeter and a speedo.


  2. #2
    Canadian Beaver Inspector jkindt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lethbridge, AB, Canada
    Posts
    1,721
    Gas gauge, voltmeter, and speedo would be simple easy. Polaris actually made these parts. Other than the speedo, the others should be interchangable with their snowmobile gauges.

  3. #3
    She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    17,330
    +1
    31
    Gas gauge was made for early Polaris. Already out there.

    Voltmeter can be any water proof gauge that connects to the battery.

    Speedo was made for early models too. Already out there.

    I'd suggest a tachometer too. Once again, Polaris already had one available.


    I can set you up with the gas, speedo and tachometer if interested.

    The volt meter, you're on your own.....

  4. #4
    Would it be as simple as taking the wires from the MFD, and reinstalling onto the new guages? It's not my luck to be that easy. lol Perhaps this is just my not knowing any better, but is a tach necessary for an engine without a tranny?

  5. #5
    Canadian Beaver Inspector jkindt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Lethbridge, AB, Canada
    Posts
    1,721
    Quote Originally Posted by Scuba Steve View Post
    ... is a tach necessary for an engine without a tranny?
    Only if you want to be able to tune it for best performance. The CDI will have a rev limiter, so you don't really have to worry about redlining the engine, but a tach will help you to tune for max performance and show you if something is off.

  6. #6
    Ahhh fantastic. Well, a small tach for me then.

  7. #7
    She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cleveland OH
    Posts
    17,330
    +1
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Scuba Steve View Post
    Would it be as simple as taking the wires from the MFD, and reinstalling onto the new guages? It's not my luck to be that easy. lol Perhaps this is just my not knowing any better, but is a tach necessary for an engine without a tranny?
    Fuel gauge should.

    Speedo is just a hose

    Tach might. Have to look into that one.

    Voltmeter should. But if not, you just need to wire it directly to the battery cables.

    And yes, the tach will help show how the engine is performing.

  8. #8
    Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    near Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    36,601
    +1
    1,277
    You can make up an adapter cable from the stock MFD wire harness connector.

    You just need the correct GRAY Deutsch connector to mate with the harness. Details can be found in the MFD section from my signature links.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. pitching impeller/ AFR guage question
    By frogurt in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2011, 07:57 PM
  2. Fuel Guage question- 01 xlt1200
    By lawyerboy in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2011, 09:19 AM
  3. 2003 Sportster 4tec guage question
    By UPTHECREEK in forum Sea Doo Sport Boats
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-20-2009, 06:29 AM
  4. 98 GP1200 Guage Question for you techs
    By angelico in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-28-2007, 12:25 PM
  5. 1998 GP 1200 Guage Question
    By angelico in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2007, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •