Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Yamaha XLT1200 Engine failure

I have a 2004 XLT1200 with about 135 hours on it. I bought it as my first PWC at the end of last year with 85 hours. Someone else was using it and when I got it back they said it would only go about 30 MPH and sounded funny. I checked it out and found that cylinder 2 was not firing. I checked the compresion and found 1=110psi, 2=0psi and 3=100psi. After spending a few days reading post on here I decided to tear into it. I found that cylinder 2 was destroyed but the other 2 looked ok to me.(btw. I have never done any engine work but consider myself pretty mechanically incline since I work as a factory machine repair tech so any thoughts on the other cylinders based on images would be great). After looking on here I still am not 100% sure what all I should replace and do. I am thinking of replacing all three piston rings, replace piston 2, rebuild carbs with carb kit, send cylinder 2 to be fixed, and cleaning up all the debri in the crank housing and posably replacing the power valve for 2 since it is nicked. All three pistons seemed equally stable to the shaft. Doed this sound right? Also any other thoughts? I included a link to some high res pictures and attached the low res ones.
    http://candent.smugmug.com/photos/sw...AlbumKey=KQ8rj
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 1 top.jpg 
Views:	253 
Size:	52.1 KB 
ID:	214145   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 1.jpg 
Views:	254 
Size:	56.2 KB 
ID:	214146   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 2 inner.jpg 
Views:	332 
Size:	34.5 KB 
ID:	214147   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 2 top.jpg 
Views:	226 
Size:	113.6 KB 
ID:	214148   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 2-1.jpg 
Views:	274 
Size:	71.7 KB 
ID:	214149   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 2-2.jpg 
Views:	273 
Size:	55.2 KB 
ID:	214150  

Click image for larger version.