2001 Virage Spark problem

Hey guys, I'm new to PWCs. When I turn over my engine I have no spark until I let go of the ignition button, and then I get 1 or 2 sparks.

I put a DVOM on the Brown wire leaving the CDI and it's putting out around 5 volts until I release it, and once i do that it goes up to around 8.5-9. What the heck can I do to fix this? Please help. The jump in voltage at the end is why I think I get spark.

Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
    Double and triple check all of your grounds. Make sure they are clean. Replace all of the connectors if you have to to make sure they are all making a good connection.

Homer Glen Il.
    it sounds like your battery is low on voltage you need over 10v while cranking
    charge your battery or hook jumper cables to your car but don't start the car while there hooked up !!!!!!!!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    +1 on the battery. Battery MUST be strong, or you will not have spark.

Battery voltage while cranking must be well over 10.6 volts, or you will not have spark.

If you need a new battery, I recommend a factory sealed AGM type battery. Very good match for PWC use.

Deka ETX16LM or Odyssey PC625 are good brands.

Seattle WA
    HOOK IT UP TO YOU CAR BATTERY WITH JUMPER CABLES. (with the car turned off).. 99.9% of the time the battery is NFG.. DONT hook it up to a jumper pack or another ski..

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by Watcon View Post
    ... 99.9% of the time the battery is NFG...
    I agree that very often the existing battery in the ski is no good.

The typical battery found in a non-starting Polaris is often weak, old, cheap quality when it was new, and non-AGM. Heck, the batteries in running PWC are often cheap and old.