Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Constructing a DIY intercooler for the SHO

I am working on more than one SHO powered ski this winter and I cannot justify the cost of an aftermarket intercooler kit. While I am a new Yamaha owner, I have ten years experience with seadoos and several years experience with the 4-tec motor. On RXPs, I put together my own intercooler kits using air/water intercoolers and parts off of frozenboost/ebay/silicone intakes.I thought I would apply the same principle to building a Yamaha intercooler kit for the SHO.

I have been looking at the 'Type13' intercooler from frozenboost

http://www.frozenboost.com/product_i...ab745f01ef4301

It looks like it will fit. I am not sure what type of bracket will secure it to the motor however. Does anyone have a pic of the bracket that comes with any of the kits, specifically the "JD1" kit?

The next issue is the piping-
    It looks like a 180 degree bent pipe will work. I am assuming 2.5".

What does the piping look like going from the IC to the throttle body? Does anyone have a picture of it? its hard for me to see down there. It appears to be somewhat "J" shaped.

I was thinking about trying one of these blow off valves also.

Yes, I am aware that it is a P.O.S. but the JD1 kit also comes with a generic blow off valve and I havent read anything negative so far.. As long as it wont leak it should be fine. it also comes with the flange so once I weld it to the IC, I can always change it later if an HKS bov comes along at a good price.

I searched the site for "DIY Intercooler" and found nothing. I apologize if this turns out to be a repost. Hopefully someone can get me some pics/info on this to help me [and presumably others] finish putting something together.

There is tons of information in the forum now on various intercooler installs we used (are using) that we made from scratch going back to 2008(ish) prior to Rivas Powercooler, JD's Kit, etc...

Quote Originally Posted by SHOBiz View Post