Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    44
    +1
    2

    Question FZR with cruise assist?

    Hi,

    Reading the report of the ten hour service on my FZR, I noticed this:



    Can this mean that if we activate this switches we can have the cruise assist feature on the FZR? Maybe replacing the left handle for an SHO one?

    By the way, looking at this, I'm riding my FZR a bit slow


  2. #2
    lets race.... mikeFZR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    4,132
    +1
    205
    You would need a SHO ecu, wiring harness, and the actual buttons. Not worth it IMO

  3. #3

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    44
    +1
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by mikeFZR View Post
    You would need a SHO ecu, wiring harness, and the actual buttons. Not worth it IMO
    My question is exactly that: do I really need an SHO ecu? If the buttons appear on the report of the FZR, maybe the ecu software of the FZR is the same of the SHO without the buttons. Anyone tried this?

  5. #5
    Mongoose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    665
    +1
    6
    You should be seriously ashamed of those data logging figures!
    Quote Originally Posted by trek_b View Post
    Hi,

    Reading the report of the ten hour service on my FZR, I noticed this:



    Can this mean that if we activate this switches we can have the cruise assist feature on the FZR? Maybe replacing the left handle for an SHO one?

    By the way, looking at this, I'm riding my FZR a bit slow

  6. #6
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by trek_b View Post
    My question is exactly that: do I really need an SHO ecu? If the buttons appear on the report of the FZR, maybe the ecu software of the FZR is the same of the SHO without the buttons. Anyone tried this?
    I have an FZR ECU sitting in my garage that I have tested. With it in my SHO, cruise and no-wake functions do not operate at all. As soon as I put the SHO ECU back in, they work just fine.

    What you are seeing is probably the output of the Yamaha diagnostic software, NOT the actuall output from the ECU. The FZR ECU completely lacks the internal ECU functions of cruise assist and no-wake.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Southern Florida
    Posts
    5,589
    +1
    345
    Quote Originally Posted by hitman View Post
    I have an FZR ECU sitting in my garage that I have tested. With it in my SHO, cruise and no-wake functions do not operate at all. As soon as I put the SHO ECU back in, they work just fine.

    What you are seeing is probably the output of the Yamaha diagnostic software, NOT the actuall output from the ECU. The FZR ECU completely lacks the internal ECU functions of cruise assist and no-wake.
    Wouldn't the information have to come from the ECU to print out that information?

    Perhaps the code (or toggles, for the lack of a better word) within the ECU that are not activated in the ski's that do not have those functions??

  8. #8
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    The FZR/S ECUs do not have the cruise assist and no wake pieces of code in them. The SHO and FZR/S ECU are the same, but they have different tunes in them.

  9. #9
    TennR600's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Nashville, TN\Boynton Beach Fl
    Posts
    173
    For a little bit of your time you can make a cruse controle that will fit all the yami and kawi's. If you use/make the tapered style you can use it crusing or in low/no wake zones to hold the rpm where you want them to be. Then you have a hand free cruse controle. Lots cheaper and will never give any problems.

  10. #10
    i will get all the rest i need when im dead corkycat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    840
    +1
    1
    keep some various size pieces of wood on your ski, ranging from 1cm to 1.5 cm stick these in the back of the finger throttle as you are going allong, when you release the throttle the speed will be set

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. No Wake Mode/Cruise Assist on FZR
    By FtLaudBlkGT in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-08-2011, 05:36 PM
  2. Installing cruise assist on FZR
    By kawiwowi in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-22-2010, 11:36 AM
  3. Cruise Assist--Can It Be Installed On FZR/FZS?
    By 5001craig in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 06-25-2009, 09:04 PM
  4. FZR with ZERO decals
    By mikeFZR in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-28-2009, 03:08 PM
  5. cruise assist on fx cruiser ho 2008
    By Yves Larochelle in forum Yamaha Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-30-2008, 12:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •