Friend gave me a jetski

Greetings. I am brand new to jetskis, never owned one before. An aquaintaince is moving and gave me his well loved 1996 STS 750. He said it was having fuel delivery problems (dry plugs) before it was parked. It has been sitting for two years. Other than the fuel problem it needs a battery and has a small rip in the seat.

I have been checking online for info on my jetski with not much luck so far. In addition to researching on forums like this, I am going to try and find a shop manual and then determine if my limited experience wrenching on motorcycles is enough to get her running or if I should take it to a shop.

Welcome aboard, 50msns!

What a coincidence, I just bought the identical 'Ski today on Ebay. It needs engine work, but I can do that. It was cheap enough, $425. I've got an Ultra 150 and a couple of 750s for the kiddos to play on.

The most common problem with these things is that people don't winterize them properly and let them sit until the fuel goes bad and gums up the carbs. That's where I'd start. You can get carb kits on Ebay (you'll need 2) for about $80 total. They're simple. If yours has a fuel filter, clean/replace it. If it has stale fuel in the tank, you'll need to drain & flush it out.

One other thing to check is the oil lines. They are prone to getting brittle and cracking when they get old. Replace them with urethane hose and secure them with stainless steel safety wire.

Primers will make it MUCH easier to start when cold, saving the starter.

It wouldn't be a bad idea to replace the brushes in the starter motor, available on Ebay for $30. (In my experience, the bearing that comes in the kit is the wrong one, so plan to re-use the original).