Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: bad day

bad day

Ok, so I am new to this jetski thing. I bought a 2004 800xlt with 76 hrs on it. The machine looks brand new. I put about 16 hrs on it this summer. All seemed great, I was hitting 55mph and towing my kid around without even a slight hesitation. I take it in to get winterized and the tech tells me my rear cylinder is shot. My compression is 60 in the rear and 140 in the front. But he tells me even though I am getting 140 in the front it builds slow, so it is going to.
    Now he tells me "good news is you don't need to winterize", but bad news is I need a new motor.
    Now can anyone give me a quick run down on what is needed and how much I should expect this to cost me. I just want to ride again in the spring.

Thanks

+1
    Welcome to the forum, sorry to hear the bad news. I would want to see the damage and take pics before anything. Get some pics up on here, weird how it was running perfect and now....... If you had a cylinder go bad like that, you would know it.

THE PLATE MAN JIM'S PERFORMANCE's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by sandyhookrider View Post
    Ok, so I am new to this jetski thing. I bought a 2004 800xlt with 76 hrs on it. The machine looks brand new. I put about 16 hrs on it this summer. All seemed great, I was hitting 55mph and towing my kid around without even a slight hesitation. I take it in to get winterized and the tech tells me my rear cylinder is shot. My compression is 60 in the rear and 140 in the front. But he tells me even though I am getting 140 in the front it builds slow, so it is going to.
    Now he tells me "good news is you don't need to winterize", but bad news is I need a new motor.
    Now can anyone give me a quick run down on what is needed and how much I should expect this to cost me. I just want to ride again in the spring.

Thanks