Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Impeller too small for wear ring housing

I just had the jet pump replaced on my jet ski and put an aftermarket impeller in. Both the mechanic and I noticed the aftermarket impeller was too small and had about a half inch gap between the edges of the impeller and the wear ring (obviously the wrong impeller). He said that the difference in size shouldn't be a problem.

I just tested it on the lake and it wont even get on plane, tops out at about 5 mph. Engine runs perfect. Is the impeller size the problem or should I look elsewhere?

I'd run away from that guy! I'm pretty new to the PWC thing and I know that is not right.

+1
    take it back and abuse the F&^k out of him clearance should be .1mm for a nice tight fit not 1/2" thats a joke.

Quote Originally Posted by dittobell View Post
    I just had the jet pump replaced on my jet ski and put an aftermarket impeller in. Both the mechanic and I noticed the aftermarket impeller was too small and had about a half inch gap between the edges of the impeller and the wear ring (obviously the wrong impeller). He said that the difference in size shouldn't be a problem.

I just tested it on the lake and it wont even get on plane, tops out at about 5 mph. Engine runs perfect. Is the impeller size the problem or should I look elsewhere?

If I had 3mm clearance I'd be ordering a new prop.

Well its pretty plain to see that that guy doesn't know anything about marine anything. If you bought the impeller from dude take it back to him and get your money back. You should have no more than 1mm clearance between the wear ring and the blades of the impeller. Your not building any pressure to move the ski.

Take the time to smile
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by STX-15FER View Post