Thread: Gel Coat repair

Gel Coat repair

New to the forum. Excellent info I've utilized already. Have a pair of 2004 GP1300R's and need to do some gel coat repair. Any tips other than what I read on the directions. Says to deepen the gouges with a screw driver or other object. Makes me a little nervous. Any DIY's on the repair process anywhere?

I'm not a professional painter but have done tons of gelcoat repairs big and small. I would reccomend first blue painters taping off anything around the damaged area so you only expose the area your gonna work on,this saves a lot of clean up.If your scratch is really deep you might need to fiberglassit first,but lets assume its not for now.You'll need to sand or scratch up the gouge 80 or 100 grit then clean with acetone.mix up your gelcoat color match can be kinda tough so if you can buy some factory color its worth it,then with a small brush fill in the scrtch a bit higher than needed.let dry and then wet sand it with progressively finer paper.i leave the tape on for the first part of sanding to eliminate scratching surrounding areas sometimes.your final sanding remove tape and finish until its nice and level,being careful not to sand thru.then buff and wax.sounds more complicated than it is.if you mess it up,re apply and do it again .you'll get the hang of it.Let me know if my explanation was confusing,and I'll try and walk you thru it.and also if your scratch needs fiberglassing.
    Good luck.Steve

Lindenhurst, Illinois, United States
    Your hull is painted not gel-coat.

Nor Cal
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbtd View Post
    Your hull is painted not gel-coat.
    To clarify. So all GPR hull are painted? not gel coated. Good to know because mines will need to be service soon