Ultra 150 Porting

Hi guys , Im new to the ski world but have been involved with snowmobiles and 2-strokes for awhile. I recently purchased a 2005 ultra 150 which i am rebuilding. I am going to be putting on a set of coffman pipes , big carbs and ignition. My question to you is this , are there any gains in porting this motor? are they worth the time? We have porting software and have done quite a few motors just no jetskis. Aswell what kind of compression ratio does this motor like when running pipes on pump gas?

lebanon tn.
    Better keep that compression down about 120psi to stay safe on the pipes. Prety much leave the stock heads on it. What kind of water are you going to be ridding in? Anything done with the hull such as plate sponsons grate?

Welcome aboard, onestockone!

Can't help you with the porting question, but wanted to throw out a few things that are good to know.

Some people want to remove the oil injection system on the Ultra 150. DON'T do it! There are balance shaft bearings that also get their oil from the oil pump. If you remove the pump, you have to modify the crankcase and pull the engine periodically to change the balance shaft oil.

The oil lines are known for getting brittle, cracking, or coming off when old. Good time to replace them!

Check the cable on the oil pump. They fray easily.

Look into installing the triple pisser kit. This allows you to monitor water flow from each cylinder.

Installing a strainer in the cooling water line will keep trash out of your cooling system. Carry a 1/2" barbed splice connector in case the strainer develops a crack and leaks water into the 'Ski.

The 'Ski is a LOT more fun if you modify the trim to give more UP.

Pull out the Multi-Function Display and re-seal the rubber plug on the back. It will leak water when it gets old and ruin that $800+ speedometer. Put some 3M 5200 on it.