Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth wester Australia
    Posts
    111

    SHO R&D Cam gears install

    hey lads..
    when i installed my cam gears i had my head off so it was a straight forward install. Ive set it up wrong and need to adjust the cams, looks like one may be a tooth out..

    Do you know if you can unbolt the gears, and slip the chain off and get it all back together again without removing the tensioner? tensioner means intake manifold off which isnt too bad but just looking to see if anyone has done it differently.

    Cheers


  2. #2
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by peachypete82 View Post
    hey lads..
    when i installed my cam gears i had my head off so it was a straight forward install. Ive set it up wrong and need to adjust the cams, looks like one may be a tooth out..

    Do you know if you can unbolt the gears, and slip the chain off and get it all back together again without removing the tensioner? tensioner means intake manifold off which isnt too bad but just looking to see if anyone has done it differently.

    Cheers
    Search

    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/sear...earchid=410359

    You are going to have to remove the tensioner period.

  3. #3
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    I've done cam gears about 5 times now and never once removed the intake manifold. You have to take the dipstick tube bolt out so you can wiggle the tube around. It will give you just enough room to get the tensioner out. You also may have to take out the intercooler depending on which one you have. The Riva cooler definitely has to come out to get to the tensioner.
    Last edited by hitman; 10-25-2010 at 03:21 PM.

  4. #4
    being in a GPR its gonna be way easier to remove manifold as front of engine is covered slightly by the hull...... been there done that and no easy way out, 15min extra work makes the task 10 times nicer

  5. #5
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    Hmmm. Didn't seen anything about this being in a GPR hull. Guess that would have helped to know.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth wester Australia
    Posts
    111
    Yeh its in a GPR... hard to get to... looks like itl come off next week and ill try put it together properly this time!!!

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth wester Australia
    Posts
    111
    Howdy all

    Well i finally got the timing sorted, was one tooth out. Though its not responded as i hoped it might have. Its down around 200 rpm to what it was before the gears. Im running the S3 setting, and i have a jdstyle cooler, C3 wheel and powershot.

    Does anyone know if its mandatory to run the reflash to get the most from the gears? in the instrucitons its sort of says so, so ive probably answered my own question though any feedback would be great.

    Cheers

    Pete

  8. #8
    gordon lasiter #328's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    katy, texas , United States
    Posts
    1,647
    +1
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by peachypete82 View Post
    Howdy all

    Well i finally got the timing sorted, was one tooth out. Though its not responded as i hoped it might have. Its down around 200 rpm to what it was before the gears. Im running the S3 setting, and i have a jdstyle cooler, C3 wheel and powershot.

    Does anyone know if its mandatory to run the reflash to get the most from the gears? in the instrucitons its sort of says so, so ive probably answered my own question though any feedback would be great.

    Cheers

    Pete
    i had similiar results in the s2 setting.
    what reflash are you using?
    i have had the cam gears removed. and will be upgrading the ecu to a r3.
    but, this weekend i will see how it does with stock timing.
    i have been told that if you are using the s2 setting, you should install the intake side only.
    so, after i get the r3 and if i try the cam gears again. that is what i will do. but, with the r3 i might have more than enough timing in the mid to low rpm range.
    i have also been using the powershot with the r2/c3 combo. but, it depends on the temp. conditions where you live.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Perth wester Australia
    Posts
    111
    Hi..

    Im not using any reflash.. stock ECU with Powershot... it used to run 82-83MPH at around 7600ish rpm... its dropped to 80MPH and 7300ish rpm since i went S3 with the cam gears..

    Starting to get the impression i need a reflash or to go S2 or even S1 to make it work with the stock ECU

  10. #10
    gordon lasiter #328's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    katy, texas , United States
    Posts
    1,647
    +1
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by peachypete82 View Post
    Hi..

    Im not using any reflash.. stock ECU with Powershot... it used to run 82-83MPH at around 7600ish rpm... its dropped to 80MPH and 7300ish rpm since i went S3 with the cam gears..

    Starting to get the impression i need a reflash or to go S2 or even S1 to make it work with the stock ECU
    get the r2 or r3 reflash. you will then get the full benefit of the c3 wheel at the higher rpms.
    the 1812cc motor just humms at 8500+ rpms.
    you can always tinker with the cam gears.
    for 750.00 the ecu upgrade is amazing.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. N/A cam gear install
    By bryantjopplin in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 08-22-2013, 10:14 PM
  2. SHO Cam Gears My Way.
    By Rocketman in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-26-2012, 11:12 PM
  3. R&D Cam Gear Install Doc
    By SHOBiz in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-01-2012, 09:57 PM
  4. FS R&D Sho cam gears
    By peachypete82 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-2010, 07:46 AM
  5. R&D cam gears on 09 yamaha sho
    By 05speed in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 09:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •