Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Exclamation Kia Ora from New Zealand!!!! and enjoy the problems im facing!!

Hey Guys,

Im New to this forum stuff, and only found it by chance using google!.

I APOLOGISE FOR MY USE TO KIWI SLANG - ANY QUESTIONS JUST ASK!!

Im a 22Yo Qualified Electrician from Auckland,from New Zealand (Middle Earth) and have just aquired my first jetski
    1999 Polaris X45 1200 135HP.

Along with it i had some problems,

The battery was rooted so i had to get a new ones, Took it out for its first go and it wouldnt work, keep bogging and stalling despite running mint on the dry.

I changeD the spark plugs, siphoned the fuel (there were bits of a clear gel like substance in the tank) and cleaned the carbs and jets.

It sounded alot better so took it out again, this time it ran awesome, i manged to have two people on it, while towing a donut and even had it waterskiing!

MY problem now is that when i open up the throttle it starts to missfire a little bit, and this morning when i took it out it would reach 4240RPM and 32mp/h, i knows its capable of more than this!

I did a compression test on the cylinders and they were 140 p.s.i, 135 p.s.i and 120 p.si

Its a 2-stroke fuel mix and have been advised that the correct ratio is 50:1, which is what i have been doing, now ive read and been told 40:1 is good but its not set in stone, from your experience whats the best ratio for me to do ??

Anotherpolaris, problem i found today when i was running water through it on land is that the first carb is spitting out petrol from the side through a pre-cast hole, yet the other carbs arent doing it, ive pulled it off and am going to look at it later,

Any info on ANY of my problems would be highly Aprreciated!!!

oh yeah also to top it all off

THERE ARE NO POLARIS DEALERS IN NEW ZEALAND ANYMORE!!!- And the stupid seadoo and kawasaki people dont want to touch it

Cheers,
    Theo

+1
    Sounds like your needle n seat is sticking in the carb.