Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Wetsuits?

Wetsuits?

Hi, I'm new to the PWC ownership scene. I am hoping to purchase a good wetsuit for Spring/Late Fall riding, but I don't really know what type of suit I should seek out. I live in NJ and do most of my riding at the NJ Shore. The water temps here can be quite low, and I am in need of some good honest opinions about the best to buy, dry or wet, and what material/brand I should seek out.

Thanks for your help

Lot of opinions on this but here are mine after experimenting with everything from 7mm suits to 3mm shorties in 50 to 55 degree water.

Dry suit feels too restrictive to me. Gives me claustrophobia. I prefer Farmer John style arm less wet suits. I used to wear 7mm but now I usually use 3mm with full legs. I then layer as necessary with hyperflex rash guard, mysterioso hoodie, 3 mm JPilot zip jacket and 1 or 2 H2O proof shells. Head protection, scuba boots & socks.

With the right layers you can survive sustained immersion in emergency yet keep free movement for physical riding in rough conditions.

Thanks for the reply! Anyone else have opinions on this? I am looking to buy one full suit, not an assortment of gear really. I believe a long sleeve full body suit would be best for my needs (60-65 degree air, 50 degree water minimum).. I am not sure if I should go with a wet or a dry suit and could use some opinions

Thank you

+1
    I also live in NJ and just got into the skis this year. I also wanted to extend my riding season this year (and earlier next spring). I got a full wetsuit 3/2 and it is just fine for 60. I was told to get 7 mm wetsuit boots and they are must. Also 2 mm wetsuit gloves. Some people think they are restrictive, but I really like them.