Thread: Rxp or r12-X

Rxp or r12-X

Hey, I'm a newbie to the jetskiing world and am interested in buying either a 05 rxp or a 04 r12-x. The rxp has had it's washers changed so that's one positive for it. But before I purchase a ski I figured it would be the best idea to make a thread and get some advice from other enthusiasts. I have ridden heavier 3 seater skis before and have been told I would enjoy the handling and respone of these 2. Hence the interest. However I havent ridden either of these 2. Just wondering which is better on fuel economy/ servicing costs and other deciding factors. I am interested in doing all sorts of riding from wave jumping to just cruising up the glassy rivers. Also I know it's illegal to tow from these skis but was Just wondering which is better for that. Any advice would be greatly apprecriated
    Cheers lachie

+1
    Both are great machines. If you plan on having a need for more speed and want to mod the RXP is the only choice.

+1
    In acceleration a Stage II R12X will be within a ski or two from Stage 2.75 RXP until top end overpasses the R12X. We have both skis. The RXP handles and rides so much better. The honda is quiet, low maintenance, goes forever on gas. Good luck trying to empty a tank in a day. Plus with cheap mods the mid range pull is really strong.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Speed_Freak_039A View Post
    In acceleration a Stage II R12X will be within a ski or two from Stage 2.75 RXP until top end overpasses the R12X. We have both skis. The RXP handles and rides so much better. The honda is quiet, low maintenance, goes forever on gas. Good luck trying to empty a tank in a day. Plus with cheap mods the mid range pull is really strong.
    Who makes mod kits for the R-12x or any Honda for that matter? I've never seen one

+1