Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

newbie advice. Buying a Polaris Virage TX 1200 3 seater

Hi all i am a newbie to all this so treat me gently.

i am thinking of buying a Polaris Virage TX 1200 3 seater. it is a 2002 model,it has done 80hours.

I have heard of the Polaris skis having electrical issues.

What do i have to look out for?

Thanks
    Last edited by K447; 07-15-2015 at 07:14 AM.

+1
    Welcome to the hulk.. Keith(k-447) has a virage and will hopefully guide you thru your question.

I don't think there were any electrical issues with the 1200's, I'm pretty sure the bad stators were only on the 700,900,and 1050's
    80 hrs is really low it should be in great shape, but I would still perform a compression test before you buy it.

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk.

I believe the elec issues were resolved by 2000. You should be good to go with that ski as long as everything else checks out.

As mentioned above, do a compression test, make sure the ski runs, do a test ride if at all possible. You won't find any performance issues with it running in a driveway, only on the water will you realize them.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by zacc300 View Post
    ...I am thinking of buying a Polaris Virage TX 1200 3 seater it is a 2002 model
    it has done 80hours

...I have heard of the Polaris skis having electrical issues.
    what do i have to look out for? ...
    Welcome to the Hulk

The Virage TX has a red 'domestic' carburetor engine. I say this just to be clear since there is also a Virage TXi model, which has a fuel injected engine.

Do take the time to click my signature links below. There is lots of good info available

The 2000 and newer 2-stroke carburetor PWC are among the more reliable that Polaris made.