Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Smile Change from race gas to pump gas

hi' just wondering if anyone could give a idea on what i would have to change/do to go from race gas to pump gas, details of ski: gp1300r 2003 triple pipe, comp 150psi, setup for racing. will add more info just trying to get an idea. thank you

+1
    after market heads are 145-150psi.......depending on timing nothing... http://www.4-tecperformance.com/inde...roducts_id=160

cool so i should be right then to run ski on pump gas. cheers thanks

+1
    Maybe I am missing something. You said you are at 150 for compression? Then you should be able to run premium 93 octane gas now. Mine is 150 with 3 degree keyway running premium. Save your money if you want a different head and find an already milled stock head or find a used stock head and have it milled.

+1
    I have been running 150 psi w/ 3 deg key on a 1390 ported for a few years now on premium pump gas with no detonation problems.........I even ran it at mudbug on swamp gas from gro's 2 years ago.

With the triples, it would have been built with an aftermarket ignition. You would need a pump gas safe ignition curve. Either a advent, [email protected], or msd if it is total loss. More info on the ski is needed. Your compression at 150 is safe with a proper ignition curve.

With triples you have to ad 10% to the compression numbers to be safe because of the high rev and timing. Also running a 1300r on triples means he is running a stand alone ingnition like msd or running carbs. He might be running efi but I only know a couple of skis that did that. If it was a race ski I highly doubt the EFI. Either way it will put him in the race gas range. You can get away with using a 50/50 mix premium(93 pon)/race gas but i wouldnt go any lower.

Bottom line add 10% to the 165 psi which would put him at least into 50/50 mix 93 pon premium/110.