Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,071
    +1
    790

    Were to get a NEW cooler thermostat for the Riva openloop kit?

    GUys I would like to check my temps with a cooler stat in my riva open loop thermostat houseing. Anyone know were to get the cooler stats that fit there kit. I am thinking 140degrees.


  2. #2
    Eric Ocman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cataula, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,700
    +1
    77
    Curious as to why you want a cooler one?

  3. #3
    JFizzleJR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    8,628
    +1
    808
    Quote Originally Posted by Water4fire View Post
    GUys I would like to check my temps with a cooler stat in my riva open loop thermostat houseing. Anyone know were to get the cooler stats that fit there kit. I am thinking 140degrees.
    Austin,

    I think you will be hard pressed to find one. There are other ways to drop the temps if that's what you want.

  4. #4
    Moderator Snoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    South Chicagoland
    Posts
    14,688
    +1
    846
    IMO 140 is to low,,BUT seeing the Riva 160s are not opening till 180,that may be the one you need to find to get your temps around 160..

    +1..with being hard pressed to find one..

  5. #5
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,071
    +1
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by Ocman View Post
    Curious as to why you want a cooler one?
    Man the lake house is 100miles away from the city and I am going to test the temps with my RIva kit and as some peeps have posted the riva open loop stat doesn't run at 158, so I just want a stat on hand to change if this is the case/ reports have been 187 to 200 degree's with the riva openloop stat. I want 160.

    Hydrotoys has given me a link to the chevy remote kit. I may buy this kit as it will work great with my rapidaccellerations reducer and dynotune temp gauge?

    .

  6. #6
    Eric Ocman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cataula, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,700
    +1
    77
    I have an IR temp gauge pointed at mine and have never seen more than 162. Where is the evidence of 180?
    I did drill out my washer a tad per a post from ironhead and vspec1.

  7. #7
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,071
    +1
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by Ocman View Post
    I have an IR temp gauge pointed at mine and have never seen more than 162. Where is the evidence of 180?
    I would love 162 and that is what I am hopeing for.

    Bobo is one of the forum members that has seen 187 and I will look to see the other that saw thesame and almost at 200.

    I have never thought to check the riva kit until now and I thinkit is a good Idea to inspect anyway.
    I think maybe theses guys are having maybe some rust in there stats as they still will rust and may stick or act slowly.

  8. #8
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,071
    +1
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by JFizzleJR View Post
    Austin,

    I think you will be hard pressed to find one. There are other ways to drop the temps if that's what you want.
    With all your research I believe I don't need to look furture as you probably already did.

    Quote Originally Posted by Snoman View Post
    IMO 140 is to low,,BUT seeing the Riva 160s are not opening till 180,that may be the one you need to find to get your temps around 160..

    +1..with being hard pressed to find one..
    Bro I like 160 also. That is what I would like to be at.

  9. #9
    Moderator Snoman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    South Chicagoland
    Posts
    14,688
    +1
    846
    Austin, Talk to James(Fizzle) i think his housing screws and unscrews apart so you can replace the thermo...IF im not mistaking it takes a regular automotive thermo too...This may be the route you might want to go..that way you can switch thermos easily and cheaply..

  10. #10
    Eric Ocman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Cataula, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,700
    +1
    77
    Before you replace it take some temp readings and then drill out your washer a tad per that post and then re test bro. This I didn't do. The riva unit screws apart to I believe.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. NEW Timming chain. Were to get a GOOD NEW chain?
    By Water4fire in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-10-2011, 07:32 AM
  2. Do i need to get an aftermarket Ride plate for my FZR
    By bigbear in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 04-23-2010, 05:38 PM
  3. Had to get out, so I went for Trout
    By jetskibrian in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-05-2010, 12:42 AM
  4. Where to get a spare rim+tire for trailer
    By welterracer in forum Sea Doo Sport Boats
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-23-2008, 11:43 AM
  5. 2006 15f whats the best impeller for the riva rpm kit
    By wave15stx in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-12-2007, 11:17 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •