Good used ski for fishing?

Hey all

I'm new to jet skis but not new to fishing. I was wondering what people here think is a good used, reliable jet ski for fishing the bays and the ocean off New Jersey coast. I was thinking triple cylinder, two stroke, three seater (larger hull), large fuel tank availability.

I was thinking 1997 to 2003 SeaDoo GTX because of price, size, looks and front storage. Is this a decent ski? Any other good choices or it doesn't really matter?

Thanks

+1
    I don't have any experience w/smokers, so I'd naturally say to find a 4 stroke. This may affect your budget, tho. If you're fishing mainly off-shore, I'd look for a Kawi (great hull in the ruff stuff and has tons of storage). I fish off the SD RXT, but am always on the inside, smoother waters. I would also stay with a NA motor, as the turbo/SC models will give you another part to worry about. Besides, you're fishing, not racing.

I'd like to get a newer 4 stroke but I don't feel the older ones are that reliable. What I really want to know is what motor and hull to stay away from? Does anyone get stuck out there by themselves, do you have Sea Tow? Do you rebuild your motors every year?

I'd be fishing inshore for along time before I'd go out but would like to do long trips up and down the coast to build up my confidence.

Thanks

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Have a look at this forum; PWC fishing

Be careful about solo PWC riding, especially in open water and long trips. If at all possible find a riding buddy with another PWC.

Consider investing in communication and rescue gear. VHF radio (preferably with built-in GPS and DSC), waterproof case for cell phone, etc.

And an emergency repair kit with selected tools, spare parts, spark plugs, duct tape...

I'd say a Yamaha SUV if you can find one... It's the biggest, most stable ski I know of.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by INABIL View Post