Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46
  1. #1
    2000 GPRXP 4tec shooter98xpl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    2,717
    +1
    3

    riva open loop on conversion skis

    I am going to run a riva open loop on my conversion ski. Wanted to check out the difference between closed loop and open loop. I installed everything according to the riva instructions. The water comes in from pump, through transom using the gpr inlet nipple, into the GPR Flush kit T off. That way I can flush the system. The line goes from the flush kit (5/ to the intercooler. From intercooler I have it split off and running into the block off plate and the other to the exhaust. The oil cooler lines I have the bottom one running to the transom and the top one running to the top of the J pipe (it use to be a water dump previously). So I am assuming they are taking the water from the J pipe and using it to cool off the oil cooler. I have the water coming out of the head into the thermostat then out the back of the ski.
    My question is that the water coming from the J pipe is pretty warm/hot. I have an extra water outlet coming in from the GPR pump. I was thinking of doing a duel cooling setup. Only problem is that I am going to be switching over to a seadoo pump soon. Guess my question is there a better way to do this or is this the best way to do it? Like to hear about other options or ways of setting it up.
    SHOOTER


  2. #2
    iron head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    ONT CANADA
    Posts
    616
    +1
    2
    If you ride in water no hoter then 80 you don't need a oil cooler

  3. #3
    2000 GPRXP 4tec shooter98xpl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    2,717
    +1
    3
    OH yeah, I ride in water that gets nice and warm, hahahaha. I am in the south.

  4. #4
    rangermtb5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North Jersey
    Posts
    4,473
    +1
    58
    What pump do you have on it now?

  5. #5
    Water4fire's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    New Braunfels TX.
    Posts
    10,062
    +1
    790
    Quote Originally Posted by rangermtb5 View Post
    What pump do you have on it now?
    +1 The seadoo and yami pumps produce different pressure's?


    .

  6. #6
    2000 GPRXP 4tec shooter98xpl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    2,717
    +1
    3
    Going to run the GPR pump first to make sure everything is good to go before I switch over to the seadoo pump. I know what it was doing before with the setup, so want to make sure everything is kosher before I go to the seadoo pump. Check and make sure its all good up under the hood before doing the seadoo pump. I know both produce different pressures. I've read where some of the guys have been drilling out the seadoo washer to 13.5 to suffice for too much pressure.
    So what you guys do for the gpr pumps? and guess the seadoo ones as well?
    Thanks.
    SHOOTER

  7. #7
    rangermtb5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North Jersey
    Posts
    4,473
    +1
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by shooter98xpl View Post
    Going to run the GPR pump first to make sure everything is good to go before I switch over to the seadoo pump. I know what it was doing before with the setup, so want to make sure everything is kosher before I go to the seadoo pump. Check and make sure its all good up under the hood before doing the seadoo pump. I know both produce different pressures. I've read where some of the guys have been drilling out the seadoo washer to 13.5 to suffice for too much pressure.
    So what you guys do for the gpr pumps? and guess the seadoo ones as well?

    Thanks.
    SHOOTER
    To be honest, you might as well just stick the doo pump on there and set it up for that, if you have all the stuff. I believe the GPR and doo pump are going to give you different results.

    Also, make sure you have a temp gauge on there, just to be sure.

  8. #8
    2000 GPRXP 4tec shooter98xpl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Charleston SC
    Posts
    2,717
    +1
    3
    Temp gauge for water is going to be right after the thermostat,

  9. #9
    Autosport's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    In the Fast lane
    Posts
    1,587
    +1
    25
    I've just changed from the Yami pump to the Seadoo pump running open loop on both and had to re-doo the whole cooling, just go straight to the Seadoo pump as the seadoo pump doesn't push as much water pressure as the Yamah pump so you'll find your engine will run hot if you set it up for Yami pump then switch to SD pump.

    Aslo, Your engine temp readings will be different depending where you take your measurement from, if you measure at the head where the factory temp sensor is will differ from measurements after the termostat (I discovered this when I installed a second sensor - originally I was reading temps where you are, then I installed a digital guage with a sensor next to the factory temp sensor)... see below two posts for what I did.

    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/conv...ml#post1477898

    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/conv...ml#post1481650

  10. #10
    rangermtb5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    North Jersey
    Posts
    4,473
    +1
    58
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosport View Post
    I've just changed from the Yami pump to the Seadoo pump running open loop on both and had to re-doo the whole cooling, just go straight to the Seadoo pump as the seadoo pump doesn't push as much water pressure as the Yamah pump so you'll find your engine will run hot if you set it up for Yami pump then switch to SD pump.

    Aslo, Your engine temp readings will be different depending where you take your measurement from, if you measure at the head where the factory temp sensor is will differ from measurements after the termostat (I discovered this when I installed a second sensor - originally I was reading temps where you are, then I installed a digital guage with a sensor next to the factory temp sensor)... see below two posts for what I did.

    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/conv...ml#post1477898

    http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/conv...ml#post1481650
    Would you mind posting what your routing is with the doo and was with the yammi?? I looked through you thread, but couldn't find anything

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RIVA Open loop plate w/closed loop cooling!
    By dduck1628 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 173
    Last Post: 04-07-2014, 12:01 PM
  2. Riva Open Loop plate on RXT
    By piper250 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 09-21-2009, 11:07 PM
  3. riva open loop fitting,info
    By MARK_LEGG in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 09-01-2009, 04:26 AM
  4. Riva open loop cooling and the new plate
    By bobluen in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2009, 06:50 AM
  5. RIVA ECU Install on 2nd Ski, how-to?
    By JFizzleJR in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11-30-2007, 09:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •