Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

New to the club of GP1200 riders

Hi all,

ski newb here (don't bash me too hard lol), I hav just purchased a completely rebuilt 99 GP1200 wich I pick up in a few days,
    Just wondering what I should expect from this ski? (I have never rode one, I have mucked about on a GP1200r a bit but thats about all) This is my first ski so i'm hoping it will be good.
    what mods should I look at first? I want this ski to be reliable mostly, but I would like to give my mates 1200r a run for its money (its stock)
    any feedback you guys can give me would be sweet,

cheers

+1
    We were all newbs once, heck I'm still a newbie compared to the mechanical knowledge many of these guys on this board have. The GP1200 is an overall great watercraft, you'll have a good time on it. I have a lot of great memories of mine. Traded it last summer for a GPR. What I noticed is:

GP has slightly better hole shot than GPR (probably due to the fact it is a few hundred pounds heavier with only 20 HP more)

GPR has the higher top speed

GP is lower maintanance

GPR is better in rough water

Can't give you any modding tips as mine was 100% stock.

I know what you mean I wish I knew half of what some of these guys do.
    your gp being stock did it "porpious" alot? I'm guessing what that means is that the nose of the craft bob's up and down easily and alot?
    What about the stability of your gp? could you go 2 up without much of a problem?
    Thanks for your advise mate.

+1
    Yes it porpioused a little but nothing that shifting my body weight could not solve. The GPR is much better in that regard. It plows through wake like a freighter.

Yes the GP was pretty stable with two up as long as it's not 2 230lb men on board.

+1