"Inherited" a free 96 sl700, is it worth messing with

Hey all, New the the forum and PWC's.

I have been given a 96 sl 700. It hasn't ran in a few years and I am not sure why in was originally "parked" but I'm wondering what you all thought about bringing it back to life. The Hull seems good and the engine compartment appears complete and unmolested. I am new to the pwc thing but I've rebuilt many dirtbikes and fourwheelers, and done some outboard repair. I'm not afraid of scattering this thing across the garage and putting it back together. I know its gonna need carb work and fuel system cleaning and all the usual stuff but, it sure seems like a lot of wiring for a two smoker, and the inside of the cdi box is kinda corroded. Curious as to how much of the stuff can be eliminated, if any. I don't mind mixing fuel or doing without the bells and whistles, just want to make it run on a shoestring budget. I oiled the cylinders with a little wd-40 and had to jump the solenoid to get it to turn over with no spark plugs installed. It has about 100 psi for compression in both cylinders and no ignition spark. Would you all mess with it or would you forget it? I really don't even want to spend the money on a manual if its a lost cause.
    Thanks
    Thanks

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

The SL700 is about as basic as a PWC gets. Every part is in there for a reason. They are a fun machine for the water, but you need to decide whether you want to do the job properly, or not at all.

That engine puts out almost 100HP from 700cc. It will not tolerate being run in poor tune or with problems.

Click below for a good place to start work

She likes the bike. But the ski gets her wet!!!! xlint89's Avatar
    +1
    It doesn't sound like you're up to the task at hand.

Tear it down, maybe you'll learn a thing or 2, but then sell the parts.

up to the task? Your an idiot. Thanks for the advice.