Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

Poor pumpbearing on Ultra pump!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC03120.jpg 
Views:	86 
Size:	127.8 KB 
ID:	231228I recently pulled out my pump on my 260x beceause of spotted Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC03119.jpg 
Views:	85 
Size:	153.0 KB 
ID:	231227cracks in the pump-vanes. I'm new to this ski and was the first time I took it out. To my surprise I saw an old friend........this main pumpbearing Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC03117.jpg 
Views:	86 
Size:	129.3 KB 
ID:	2312266303. I may be new to this forum and ski but has more than 9 years experiance in dealing with problems in other applications due to this bearing.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC03118.jpg 
Views:	89 
Size:	167.6 KB 
ID:	231225It's just a poor designed bearing that can not take heavy loads. Look at the heat-ring around the outerrim of the bearing. Also look at the shaved edges on the outer rim and you'll see that this bearing seized-up and spun around inside the housing of the pump. Yet when I took it out it was turning normaly whith smaller than 0.8mm of play either side(23 hrs and 23hrs for any bearing isn't normal, cmon!).

This bearing is spinning at such a high rpm that it is heating up, propably harder to turn(bogging down) and will ultimately cost you. Now you will say it's just a poor quality(brand name) and that a more expensive one would do the trick. NO, NO and NO! Been there, done that! As I said, this thing fails at even lower rpm's and according to me a poor bearing-design.