Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: need a ski!

need a ski!

i recently was on vacation and rented a ski to go on some safari trip( snorkeling, mangroves) and fell in love with riding it, it was an yami vx110 i believe. even though im new to the game i know that it was low on power! seemed to only go about 38 mph but it might have been governed. it also didnt seem to handle that great. but anyhow i did fall in love with the thrill of riding. since i was little i have always wanted one and now i have ridden it is even worse of a want!.

but here is what im getting at
    i have been looking around and have been thinking about these skis
    gp1300r
    fx sho
    kawasaki 260x

i have leaned away from sea doo as i believe yami and kawasaki have way better offerings in the industry and seem to be making a better product

i would like something fast, sporty and able to handle decently choppy water. i also like to have the acceleration and pure power. the gpr1300 i kinda like because i can get them at good prices. but i like the other two because of there weight and ability to handle rougher water. i have a guy that will sell me two 09' fx sho's for 5,000 with dual tralier and covers!
    give me any suggestions and pros and cons!

+1
    I can't speak for the other Skis but I can tell you that the GPR hull is very good all around. I know alot of people on here have them set up for speed but with some minor tweaks GPR's handle the ruff stuff pretty well. I ride mine about 75% of the time in the ocean pretty much WOT and have not encountered a scenario where I thought I needed a bigger Ski. Where do you plan to ride most of the time? Do you plan on riding 2 up? If you plan on riding 2 up a lot look elsewhere. The GPR is not a 2 person ski regardless of what it says. On anything other then flat water to mild chop you really need to stand to get the most out of the ski or your just going to beat you and your passenger up.

Just relax and enjoy the ride. XLT Chad's Avatar