Louisville, KY

2001 XLT Engine Repair Questions

Newbie here. I bought a project ski that needs engine repair based on a friends recommendation that people unload them instead of doing easy and cheap repairs. I have completely disassembled the the engine and here is what I found. It blew the rings off the 3rd piston and scored the cylinder. The 2nd cylinder has a very light mark, maybe 3/4" long by 1/16" wide running up the cylinder wall. I can barely catch my finger nail on it. Is this acceptable or does it need repaired? Metal got into the crank bearing and it feels rough. It was the bearing opposite the end crank lobe (not the one at the end near the coupling). There is no doubt it needs replaced. I checked out CrankWorks website and I'm not sure what it might cost to repair it. Any ideas? Do you typically replace all the bearings and seals? Right now I'm trying to determine if it is worth fixing or if I should part it out. What might it be worth parting out? It was used in fresh water and I'm not sure how many hours were on it. But visually it looks great, very clean. It still has pretty clear honing marks in the cylinders. Is there a way to check the hours with out actually starting the engine? The crank case has some scoring in it where the crank dragged material around (pic attached). Does that really have any effect on the case? Also the #3 cylinder head has move hit marks from the ring pieces (pic attached). Can I clean it up and reuse it or do I need a new/used one? Can't see that it will effect the compression much. Of course I have no idea why it had the problem since I got it in this condition form the seller. He just stated his teenage kids were riding it and put it up broke and didn't tell him. Who knows?

If anybody lives in the Louisville, KY area and wants to share in the fun, just let me know.

So this is my very crude list of potential costs:
    Repair 3rd cylinder: ~$230 (Millennium or US Chrome?) (pic attached)
    New OEM 3rd piston: ~$100