Thread: New PWC owner

New PWC owner

I just became an owner of a 2002 Polaris Virage Txi. I am a beginner when it comes to PWC so i can use all the help i can get from you guys/gals. I dont know anything about my pwc other than it has 70 hrs and is running great. My sister has had it sitting around and i took it off her hands.

I am planning on getting rid of the original copper color and repainting it with a silver to match my truck. It has scratches all over the front of it and figured it would be easier to paint. What would be the easiest/cheapest way to do this, paint shop or personal? How do you disassemble the plastic parts to paint them if i do decide to do the paint job myself?

I look forward to getting on the lake this weekend or next. Thanks in advance for the help.

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by USAFrider View Post
    ... I look forward to getting on the lake this weekend or next...
    Welcome to the Hulk

Even though it was running well, it is still a good idea to spend some time checking things over. If you don't find anything wrong, great. If you do find issues, it will have been well worth your while to find and fix the problem before you get to the water.

What you want to avoid is potentially expensive or dangerous failures while on the water. You cannot just walk back if it fails, and it can be a long slow paddle to the shore. You have a collapsible paddle, yes?

Your engine is a Ficht fuel injected 2-stroke. Make sure the correct spark plugs are installed, and that they are fresh. The Ficht engines are picky about spark plugs.

Have a look at my signature links for more info.