Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Engine help needed.

I recently rebuilt my 08 px due to a saltwater injection from a bad intercooler. After finishing the job I now have a boat that won't start I have plenty of experience with automotive, but this is my first Rotax. What is happening is that it cranks but won't start after cranking for 15 or so seconds, it pops out of the exhaust. Everything went together well which should have been my first indication all is not going to be that easy. I did lock that crank and cam with the #3 TDC. If this is a timing issue like I believe it to be, how can I correct it? What is it that I've overlooked?

Most likely you have a bad timing since it backfire. I would take a look at the timing again.

---------- Post added at 08:18 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:16 PM ----------

I assume you already have chect the ignition, injectors spray correct ect

The timing is perfect. The injectors are spraying and I need to look at the spark closer.

+1
    Did you reuse the crank? What was replaced?

+1
    It's timing, double check your lockdown points with the crank and cam. Do the crank first then check the cam, make sure the crank lock tool is in the hole and not past the crank weight. Also check and make sure the pin is still in the end of the crank and the trigger wheel is in the proper position, the flywheel and trigger wheel should only go on one way.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by beerdart View Post
    Did you reuse the crank? What was replaced?