Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

My 2001 GP1200R Rebuild.

I am making this thread to document the rebuild of my 2001 GP1200R. I bought this ski last month from a guy who said it ran great. I am new to jet skis so seeing him start it up gave me the impression that it was in good shape. I was wrong. It has a very beat up #2 cylinder.

I have never worked on jet skis. I have a little experience with cars but not much. I hope this thread will help me get some advise and also give other noobs the confidence to work on their own ski.

So far I have torn the motor down to they cylinders. I will post pics of all the steps this weekend. I am having some trouble getting the cylinders off the crank case but osidebill suggested I tap on them with a rubber hammer. I will try this tomorrow.

Does anyone have suggestions of things I should fix or add while I have the motor apart. I will be adding wave eater clips and Im obviously replacing the bad cylinder and piston. I am also replacing rings on all 3 pistons. I am considering reed stuffers but they are a little pricey. Is this a "mandatory" fix or just something people do for performance. Do I have to replace all the gaskets? They look good and if needed, i'll put up some pics of those as well.

Thanks to everyone who has helped so far. Im looking forward to riding this summer. PICS TO COME!.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bigdingGH.jpg 
Views:	273 
Size:	88.1 KB 
ID:	234453Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dingrepairGH.jpg 
Views:	283 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	234452Click image for larger version. 

Name:	battery boxGH.jpg 
Views:	300 
Size:	121.2 KB 
ID:	234454Click image for larger version. 

Name:	unplug3wiresGH.jpg 
Views:	282 
Size:	91.0 KB 
ID:	234457Click image for larger version. 

Name:	removebootGH.jpg 
Views:	251 
Size:	110.2 KB 
ID:	234455Click image for larger version. 

Name:	stingerbootGH.jpg 
Views:	240 
Size:	79.6 KB 
ID:	234456Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hose@headGH.jpg 
Views:	360