Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

1994 waveraider dieseling

I am new to the ski arena and when I have had questions you'll always come through, so here is my question:

I rebuilt the jet pump and the carbs and fuel pump. I ran it on the trailer and no problem. I let it sit about two weeks while I worked on another ski and then when I try to run it now (on a trailer, haven't even made it to the water) it diesels.

It ran about 7000 rpm with no throttle. I hit stop and nothing. I pull the stop key and it continues to run. I turn off the gas and it continues to run. I give it about a minute and it is still running, so I pull the spark plugs. It continues to run. Another minute and then I pull off the fuel intake line and it still runs. About another minute and I pull off the return line and then it finally dies.

What is causing this? Bad gas? Is it possible the return line carried that much fuel and was just going back to the engine? Is it a poor rebuild job on my part?

In terms of the engine sound, there was no difference in how it sounded with or without a spark...

Any help would be great.

+1
    First off, welcome to the forum.

Next time it does this, pull the throttle wide open, it will stop. Sounds like it was glow plugging.

I would guess there may be a possible air leak.
    Last edited by RX951; 11-18-2006 at 08:25 PM.

dieseling

Thanks and I guess I did leave that out, before I starting figuring out why, I did try throttling it to see if reving would correct, it didn't. On a couple of occasions it would slow some, but went right back to where it was or it even acted like it was going to die a few times (before I pulled the fuel lines) but would keep running.

Is it possible its a air leak and if so how do I find out? Compression check?

Or is this something that sometimes happens on a trailer and then when in the water the load against the prop is enough to correct?

+1
    When you rebuilt the carbs, did you install new gaskets ?