2002 Seadoo GTX Issue

First I would like to say hello. As you can see, Im a new member here on Green Hulk. For the past few months, I have trolled the site and have been very impressed with the advice and help on this site.
    I recently bought a 2002 GTX (non-DI). It only had 36 hours and is in almost flawless shape. Im new to PWCs and have a few questions. Though I feel Im pretty mechanically inclined, two-strokes and PWCs are a gray area. I had a built 95 Mustang GT with Vortech Supercharger. I did the majority of the work myself, including the blower, fuel system, suspension, brakes and sound system. So I have a general understanding of most things mechanical.
    Two weekends ago, I took my new ski out for the first time and the wear ring went out after a few hours of riding. I changed the wear ring this weekend as well as the spark plugs. After I put everything together, I started up the ski in the driveway with hose attached and ran it for a few minutes (I know, ski on, water on, water off, ski off). I revved the motor a little to put some torque on the impellor to ensure everything was properly seated. Suddenly there was a loud bang/pop that sounded like metal. Initially I thought something let go in the motor. After the pop, it sounded like metal was bouncing around, the sound of the motor changed completely and the entire ski started to vibrate really badly. However, two-strokes are ugly sounding motors and Im not used to hearing them.
    In hopes, I thought that maybe the loud metal pop could have been from me not having the impellor properly seated with the drive shaft and it came loose under torque. I pulled the pump and reinstalled it. The splines were fine and not stripped out. The new neoprene gasket was still in place as well as the rubber grommet on the end of the impellor.