Banned User
    +1

Go Pro smack into Buoy at 40mph

Here is what it looks like, when a Go Pro camera smacking into a buoy, at about 40mph;

Don't try this at home. I am a Go Pro Professional. Luckily, I had placed two floating key chain buoys onto the camera/mount, which allowed it to float.

Here is the video I ended up making, with some of that footage, of Nicholas Rius, on his stand-up;

+1
    nice vids. do you have a picture of how you attached the floater to the camera?

Banned User
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by rangermtb5 View Post
    nice vids. do you have a picture of how you attached the floater to the camera?
    No, I don't. I just got a couple of key floats from West Marine-the white ones-nothing fancy, and used Duct Tape to secure them together, then to the mount. I figured out I needed two with the suction cup mount, because with one, it would still sink. I tested all of this out first, by dropping the camera in the water-to make sure it would float.

With just the camera, and the small clip on mount, you only need one floatie. This is actually the first time the camera has fallen-been knocked off a boat. So, it pays to do testing to make sure everything floats, or, that you secure the camera well, before doing onboard footage. $10 worth of floaties can save you $300 worth of camera/mount.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by iflyems View Post
    No, I don't. I just got a couple of key floats from West Marine-the white ones-nothing fancy, and used Duct Tape to secure them together, then to the mount. I figured out I needed two with the suction cup mount, because with one, it would still sink. I tested all of this out first, by dropping the camera in the water-to make sure it would float.