Question 2003 xlt800 needs some tlc

I just have inherited a 2003 Yamaha Waverunner xlt800. I am completely new to this sport/hobby and this is my first post here on this forum site. Before I can enjoy this I need to figure out what is going on with it first. I hope that some of you may be able to offer me any isight and get me going in the right direction.

It has been sitting in storage for several years now. It does not turn on or turn over at all. The previous owner said the battery was replaced but never used 2 years ago. I have it on a charger right now and am hoping it will turn over tomorrow. I get a "start" light on the panel but it does not try to turn over at all. Not sure if the battery is completely bad from sitting that long. Will see in the morning.

Second problem is that the reverse lever is completely stuck. I have sprayed it all down with pb blaster and wd40 (along with just about every other movable part) but it does not budge. I do not know exactly how it works, but it is completely jammed. Third problem is similar in that the quick shift trim selector does not turn.

The craft is in pretty good shape, and the previous owner says they cleaned it very well every time it was ridden. Just seems like it has a couple areas that may have become corroded. Hope there is a easy way to free those two areas.

Thank you for any information.

+1
    throw the battery out and get a new 1, new 2 year ago is not new any more then try it with new battery see if the motor turns over if not check the jetpump sounds like the ski was a salt water ski and the jet pump liner might have swelled from corrosion causing the engine not to turn as well as the reverse cable. Disconnect the reverse cable from the rear of the plastic bucket at the rear of the ski and see if its the cable or the bucket or the handle to rule out the 3 obvious things.