Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: ecu reset

  1. #1
    SHOTIME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Englewood, FL.
    Posts
    136

    ecu reset

    is there any way to reset the stock ecu on the fx sho?


  2. #2
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by SHOTIME View Post
    is there any way to reset the stock ecu on the fx sho?
    What do you mean reset? What is it doing that makes you think it needs to be reset?

  3. #3
    SHOTIME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Englewood, FL.
    Posts
    136
    it wont start, had an issue with running out of oil and have checked everything i can think of and it still wont start, cranks fine, good compression. hoping it has a safety feature that shuts down the ecu in case of low oil pressure.

  4. #4
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Test for spark and fuel

  5. #5
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    If it cranks and won't start you could have it in "locked" mode. Have you tried hitting unlock on the key fob just for shits and grins? Might as well start simple and then start narrowing it down by other means. You know compression is ok, then start to check spark and fuel as SHObiz said.

    If you can't get it figured out post up and let us know. You're lucky there are a lot of guys on here in FL that are good with these skis.

  6. #6
    SHOTIME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Englewood, FL.
    Posts
    136
    have spark and fuel, not in locked mode, but i will double check everything again. hopefully its something relatively simple and/or inexpensive, not wanting to take it to the stealership. anyone in florida with a ecu i could borrow? just to check if thats the problem!!!!!

  7. #7
    hitman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    4,328
    +1
    12
    I can say with almost certainty that it is NOT your ECU. I have yet to hear of any case where there was a "bad" ECU. What caused you to "run out of oil" in the first place?

  8. #8
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Does the display work? Does it throw any codes when checked?
    Does the bilge pump start running when you try to start it? (looking for power)
    Check fuses? (Ya never now)
    Did you have an argument with it?
    Absolutely sure the Lock mode it off? (I've done thins one myself, but who hasn't)
    Made sure everything is plugged in?

  9. #9
    Addicted Member 5001craig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Northeast Indiana
    Posts
    2,924
    +1
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by SHOBiz View Post
    ...Made sure everything is plugged in?
    When I re-installed my motor after doing couplers I had one wire sensor (very short lead directly above the couplers aft-side of engine between mid-wall and engine) that I missed. Engine would turn over but wouldn't start. After connected the engine started immediately. My guess is that this connector is for a crank or cam sensor.

    Double check that all electrical connections are together completely.

  10. #10
    SHOBiz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wylie, Texas
    Posts
    3,577
    Quote Originally Posted by 5001craig View Post
    When I re-installed my motor after doing couplers I had one wire sensor (very short lead directly above the couplers aft-side of engine between mid-wall and engine) that I missed. Engine would turn over but wouldn't start. After connected the engine started immediately. My guess is that this connector is for a crank or cam sensor.

    Double check that all electrical connections are together completely.
    I really hope it is something as simple as this.
    "had an issue with running out of oil" doesn't exactly give me a warm fuzzy feeling.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Voltage warning, wont start unless ecu reset
    By Ill3stGMC in forum Yamaha ECU Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-24-2014, 08:14 PM
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 08:14 AM
  3. ecu reset?
    By prasino thereo in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-28-2011, 05:32 AM
  4. ecu reset??
    By deansta in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-02-2010, 08:00 AM
  5. Where/How do I get my RR ECU reset?
    By grantuk in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-21-2008, 07:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •