polaris x 45 spark issues

Hello my name is mike i am the owner of worldwind motorsports in antioch il ,i am also a noob to the site, thank you for having me and letting me share my situation. I have a 1999 poalris x45 after running fo 10 min or so, once you shut off you lose spark i have ran every test and my battery is new i have unpluged all systems and have isolated it to the red/purple wire at the cdi box if you unplug this wire it will start every time. i am pulling my hair out with this! i have no broken or melted wires i am nt triping the circut breaker i never lose power to any of the wires including the brown to stator. lol i rode the unit yesterday and now it wont duplicate so it is intermittent. any help would be great it would save me money not seeing my shrink this week

+1
    Welcome to Green Hulk !

I have verified that exact problem.
    Polaris has a Service message, to relocate the red/pur over to the Orange terminal.

It seems the "updated style CDI" will not, kinda reboot and get ready to restart without unplugging the red/pur than reconnecting it.

The orange wires only have power when running-cranking, from the LR module, this does the kinda "reboot" to get it to restart.

Quote Originally Posted by casey67 View Post
    Welcome to Green Hulk !

I have verified that exact problem.
    Polaris has a Service message, to locate the red/pur over to the Orange terminal.

It seems the "updated style CDI" will not, kinda reboot and get ready to restart without unplugging the red/pur than reconnecting it.

The orange wires only have power when running-cranking, from the LR module, this does the kinda "reboot" to get it to restart.

This will almost definitely fix your problem.

x45

i want to thank you for youre advise, that sounds perfect it will reboot the system when it shuts down. thank you again

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by worldwind View Post