Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: wear ring

wear ring

this is my first time with replacing the wear ring on my 05 rxp..i got the old one out with the prop still in using the freezer method..my question is how the hell does the new get in ..thanks in advance

+1
    Need to freeze both. I used a 1' piece of 2x4 and a rubber hammer to get the new ones in. Shouldn't need much force tho.

Quote Originally Posted by sfackett0 View Post
    Need to freeze both. I used a 1' piece of 2x4 and a rubber hammer to get the new ones in. Shouldn't need much force tho.
    ok..i only put the new ring in the freezer because the old one fell right out didnt put the pump in..now the new ring should almost fall right in, but wouldnt the blades on the prop stop the ring from going in because it doesnt have any groves or anything, and also should i put anything on the outside of the ring to keep it from moving?

+1
    Just lay the pump flat on a padded surface.... Get your 'special tool' i.e. a 2x4 and lay it across the new ring and take a heavy hammer and knock the t-total shit out of it dead center. it should go in. Once it gets seated, keep knocking the shit out of it. Pretending it's your boss or something. It will miss the blades..

Quote Originally Posted by MSRXP View Post
    Just lay the pump flat on a padded surface.... Get your 'special tool' i.e. a 2x4 and lay it across the new ring and take a heavy hammer and knock the t-total shit out of it dead center. it should go in. Once it gets seated, keep knocking the shit out of it. Pretending it's your boss or something. It will miss the blades..
    i like the that method MSRXP,and have done it once or twice now,but the blades are stopping it from going in there trying to cut grooves in it.is that normal and should i just keep hitin it till it goes? also the ring is blue not white does that matter?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by BIG E View Post