I am a Newbie in need of direction!!!

Hello all,

I recently purchased a 97 sl 1050 in decent shape. The boat sat for 3 yrs and I am now in the process of getting it to run. My problem is that other than the carbs being rebuilt and needing a new battery, I dont know what to do next. Here are my questions. I bought the carb rebuilding kit--should I do this myself or take it to somebody who dose this for a living? I took the cyl heads off and the pistons look good-no holes. The cyl have a little oxidation build up on them from sitting. Most of it wiped off but some is stuborn--should I get them rehoned or will they clean themsleves on start up? I am in the process of replacing all of the lines fuel and water. Fuel is drained. What else should I do or look for while I have the carbs, intake, and cyl heads off? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

+1
    As there's rust on cylinder, just for a piece of mind, I would start the complete overhaul process. I don't want there's rust on the crankshaft especially the bearings. They won't last long in 6000+ rpm.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome to the Hulk

Click my signature links for more should-do info.

You may want to replace or rebuild the fuel selector valve. And check the fuel filler cap and neck for cracks or bad sealing.

Hard to say what is needed regarding the cylinder wall rusting without seeing them.

More important is the condition of the crank assembly. Even a little rust on the crank shaft or connecting rod bearings can result in very short engine life (hours, minutes or seconds).

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Timfd024 View Post
    Hello all,

Here are my questions. I bought the carb rebuilding kit--should I do this myself or take it to somebody who dose this for a living?