Carb and fuel pump rebuild

I am just finishing up with rebuilding my carbs, fuel pump, and replacing the lines. At this point I have no fuel in the lines. If I take the spark plugs out and crank it over will that pull fuel into the lines?

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    If you prime the engine with a dribble of pre-mix (gasoline + 2-stroke oil) down each carb throat it will start right away and rapidly pump fuel from the tank into the carbs. Might need to prime and start it twice before the fuel gets fully into the carbs from the tank, then it should run and start normally.

Don't be leaning over the open carbs when starting a primed engine (or any engine) just in case of a backfire.

i know thats how we all do it but please be careful i'm a firefighter and i actually had a guy burned alive when he used too much gas the gas flashed back and he inhaled some of the super heated vapors as he tried to put the fire out which he was unsuccessful

so please be careful using this method i don't even do it anymore ill find a different way to prime the lines

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by kegonsa View Post
    I am just finishing up with rebuilding my carbs, fuel pump, and replacing the lines. At this point I have no fuel in the lines. If I take the spark plugs out and crank it over will that pull fuel into the lines?
    That's what I have done and it works just fine. Now, this was not done on a 'dry' engine. Each time I've done this the engines had been previously fogged so there was a lot of lubrication on the bearings as the starter spun the motor.

I know this sounds obvious, buy just be sure the lanyard is not engaged so that no spark is sent through the plug boots.

KJ

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by nitrosportman View Post
    ... so please be careful using this method ...
    Agreed.