Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Moderator #985 lasportsmn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pierre Part, Louisiana
    Posts
    4,780
    +1
    357

    Riva Speed Control Override Module on 300x

    Today I installed my Riva speed limiter bypass and there were a few things I noticed and learned that I wanted to share with everyone.

    Before I get started....
    Install was very easy and only took a few minutes. Anyone can do it in my opinion if you add my instructions to Riva's.

    First is something I could not believe they did not say first and I recommend any time you work on your ski......... DISCONNECT THE BATTERY

    Second is REMOVE THE ECU BRACKET FROM THE BULKHEAD
    This will make everything much easier and the only way you can have room for your hands to route the wires. It just pulls out towards the bow.

    Third is BE SURE THE MODULE IS ALL THE WAY AGAINST THE BACK OF THE ECU BRACKET (Picture 3 in instructions)
    That is the only way you can easily reinstall the ECU cover in the bulkhead

    Fourth WHEN RUNNING THE WIRES THROUGH THE RUBBER GROMMET, FIRST RUN A SMALL WIRE FROM THE BATTERY SIDE THROUGH THE OPENING AND REACH THROUGH THE OPENING IN THE BULKHEAD TO RETRIEVE THE SMALL WIRE YOU PUSHED THROUGH. PASS THE END OF YOUR SMALL WIRE THROUGH THE EYES OF THE MODULE WIRES, TWIST BACK ON ITSELF AND TAPE. aLSO TAPE OVER THE EYES AND YOUR WIRE.
    This is SO much easier than trying to feed the wires the way the instructions state. Pull the wire you have pushed through slowly and carefully and your module wires will come right through.

    EDIT: Upon testing I found one more thing that you will need to be sure of. The white wire that replaces the one instructed to remove from the harness NEEDS TO BE PUSHED ALL THE WAY IN. I got a fault code on my first test run. F1 (SPSE) so I unplugged and replugged the white wire (a few times) and it finally cleared. IF YOU GET A FAULT CODE AND ALARM AFTER INSTALLING, TRY THIS FIRST. You will have to really push it in there.


    I hope this helps you with your install.


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    240
    +1
    1
    Hi

    Thanks for the info. Will be fitting mine tomorrow.

    regards,

    OZFXSHO

  3. #3
    Vman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,361
    +1
    339
    Good deal guys... wanna get some solid feedback on these overrides! Can't wait to see the Riva, RD, Mountain override shootout thread!

  4. #4
    2011 N/A champ 2011-2012 turbo champ elpeladodelsamba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    uruguay south america
    Posts
    305
    congrats con this info!! so it seems a very easy instalation. now fun fun fun go test it!!!!

  5. #5
    cmexeqtu2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Matthews NC
    Posts
    17
    Thanks for sharing your info with us.

    David

  6. #6
    SCSFAB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ANKENY ,IA
    Posts
    112
    +1
    2
    Just installed mine- your advice was right on. The white wire that Riva uses has thicker insulation than the brown/white wire it replaces making it hard to insert into the connector all the way. A little work with a emery board to thin it down made the job just a little easier.

  7. #7
    SCSFAB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ANKENY ,IA
    Posts
    112
    +1
    2
    Problem.....After about an hour of riding.....every thing was going fine.... hit a big bump an F1 code pops up. Load on trailer check white wire and all is well. After several attempts could not get light off. Removed the by pass and went back and plugged in the original brown/white wire,,,still SPSN code....any ideas????

  8. #8
    Moderator #985 lasportsmn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pierre Part, Louisiana
    Posts
    4,780
    +1
    357
    Above my knowledge level if is more than just not having a good enough connection to satisfy the ECU. Good luck with this.

  9. #9
    Moderator #985 lasportsmn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pierre Part, Louisiana
    Posts
    4,780
    +1
    357
    Yes I was able to. It was tough getting it to lock but it will.

  10. #10
    Moderator #985 lasportsmn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Pierre Part, Louisiana
    Posts
    4,780
    +1
    357
    I just used 2 small pliers

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RIVA Speed Control Override Module for Yamaha SVHO Skis
    By superdavid in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 06-27-2016, 07:31 PM
  2. RIVA speed control override module instructions
    By Green Hulk in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 87
    Last Post: 06-24-2015, 06:44 PM
  3. RIVA Speed Control Override Module Install Question...........
    By RIVERA RACING in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-12-2015, 10:19 PM
  4. RIVA Speed Control Override Module..............
    By RIVERA RACING in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-12-2015, 09:41 PM
  5. Riva speed control override module
    By LKNROCKSTAR in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2013, 09:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •