Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 4-TEC tune up

  1. #1
    sourpower RXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Victorville, Ca.
    Posts
    295
    +1
    7

    4-TEC tune up

    I wanted to post this in the "How to" section...unfortunately I do not have privileges.
    This includes oil change + filter , spark plug information. Just wanted to add it since it has nice pictures & torque specs. Maybe one of the moderators can move it for me.
    This actually from the 4-tec tune up kit that Jerry sell in the online store.
    Enjoy!

    Oscar
    Attached Files Attached Files


  2. #2
    When I remove the ignition coil (by pulling it straught out) the top screw piece on the spark plug remains in the end of the coil. Now the new spark plug will not fit in the ignition coil. What should I be doing different???

  3. #3
    Mod less, ride more! troyheb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Nederland, Texas
    Posts
    8,725
    +1
    1,267
    The screw piece is not in the coil. You have to remove the screw piece from the new spark plug. The old ones did not have it

  4. #4
    A smart admits!A wicked excuses!An idiot insists! mitsakosgt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    GREECE ATHENS , NAXOS
    Posts
    2,693
    +1
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by seadoopal View Post
    When I remove the ignition coil (by pulling it straught out) the top screw piece on the spark plug remains in the end of the coil. Now the new spark plug will not fit in the ignition coil. What should I be doing different???
    This is right,you have to remove the cap of the new spark plug.

  5. #5
    wotxxxsd's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    3,928
    +1
    472
    You need to take the spark plug cap off the new plug.
    If u can't get it off then you have to get the plugs with the removable caps.
    They make a plug with a fixed cap and a removable cap.

  6. #6
    cigarlust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Funky town (Fort Worth TX)
    Posts
    1,171
    +1
    2
    Why do sea-doos not need the cap?

    I'm just glad my 4-tec doesn't use the same plugs as my Honda... Those little bastards are around 11 bucks each, best price I can find

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Polaris SLT 750 Needs a Tune Up
    By hawkeye2400 in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-20-2008, 09:25 PM
  2. yamaha xlt 8000 yr 2002 tune up
    By TNG in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-16-2008, 09:25 PM
  3. Tune Up ?s and $s
    By hoof hearted in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 05:02 AM
  4. Dukes Tune Up
    By akent in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-10-2007, 07:44 PM
  5. 10 hour tune up
    By rxtscott in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-22-2005, 12:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •