1990 Seadoo sp starter issue

I recently picked up a 1990 Seadoo SP, more as a machine for my friends to screw around on... It seems to need a starter.

Anyone have any step by step how to's on how to pull this thing out? I have never done one of these before..

Also...it cranked fairly well originally...but I may have cranked it too long before it would start..so perhaps I toasted it (though...for any decent starter...i dont think I over did it...I have never burnt out a starter before from cranking it ignorantly. )

What typically goes on these starters? Is it an easy fix? I heard of putting them in an oven for an hour at 120F...anyone ever done that?

flyin' the friendly skies airbornexp's Avatar
    +1
    if your cranking and cranking before it starts you have other issues that you need to look at. for starters you need to get into the fuel system and clean the carbs and replace the needle and seats. THEN it will fire with minimal cranking.

Yah...not too worried about its lack of starting..It has been sitting for a few years (properly winterized) and it almost ran...It will definately go... The fact that it didnt run..was more likely the weak battery in the first place had trouble cranking it fast enough along with my inexperience with the choke/throttle/flooding combination..

So..just working on the starter issue at the moment...

+1
    thats the problem...its not the starter, its the fuel system. Sitting for a few years does some things. Properly winterized means that there is antifreeze in the water system and fogging oil in the cylinders and maybe seafoam in the tank...but what about the fuel lines and carbs?? im sure the carbs were bone dry and all the seals/gaskets are dried up and or cracked. For example, on my two stroke I just have to hit the starter and pull the choke for a second or two and it fires right up. you shouldnt have to do a special combo to get it to run or extended cranking.