+1

D plate & Wave eaters question

Hello everyone,
    So I have a 2003 XLT 1200 with 148 hrs. My friend who is great mechanic on these and has done several and has 3 himself stand ups, 3 seaters, etc. re built the top end because I had middle cylinder go. While he was in there of course we did the other pistons. Out on weekend about 3 hrs breaking it in with no issues thus far its running better than ever.

Now here is the question. Is a D plate and wave eaters absolutely necessary? Should I have him go back in and install these? If I do is it now a big deal since everything was put back together. As you can see I am a newbie and maybe putting them on will have nothing to do with cylinders?

Thanks everyone and have a great summer...finally warm here in Ontario Canada...except for water that takes a bit still.

+1
    Wave eater clips take 15-20 minutes and you absolutely need them.
    D-plate install takes 1 - 2 hours. If catcon fails it won't ruin motor, just fall apart and block exhaust.
    These, along with switching to pre-mix, are the first "reliability" mods that most everyone does to their 1200 & 1300 PV's.

I've got a 99 gp 800, I guess I need a d plate? What exactly does this do and where would it be located? Thanks chris

+1
    I don't think any gp800's or gp800r"s have catalyst assemblies so no need for d-plate.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by toyterrific View Post
    Wave eater clips take 15-20 minutes and you absolutely need them.
    D-plate install takes 1 - 2 hours. If catcon fails it won't ruin motor, just fall apart and block exhaust.
    These, along with switching to pre-mix, are the first "reliability" mods that most everyone does to their 1200 & 1300 PV's.
    +1

On stock boats I usually dont go premix unless the customer requests. Securing the oil lines is the key

Quote Originally Posted by Chrisfrost86 View Post